Eligibility Requirements / Criteria

The National Optometry Hall of Fame recognizes individuals whose dedicated service, lifetime achievement and enduring lifetime contributions have advanced the profession of optometry. Individuals may be nominated in one of two categories; Academia or Private Practice/Federal Service.

Eligibility Requirements:

Open to all optometrists:

  • Involved in optometric clinical care, private practice, federal service, academia, research or industry.
  • With records of dedicated service, lifetime achievements and enduring lifetime contributions.
  • Involved in the profession of optometry for over 30 years.

Selection Criteria Academia Category:

  • Scholastic Accomplishments
  • Leadership Contributions
  • Community Service, Professional and Civic
  • Impact of Contributions

Selection Criteria Private Practice/Federal Service Category:

  • Patient Care Accomplishments
  • Local, State, and National Optometric Service
  • Community Service
  • Impact of Contributions 


  • Optometrists nominated for the 2014 AOA Distinguished Service Award will automatically be placed in the selection pool for the 2015 National Optometry Hall of Fame.
  • Each nomination is valid for 4 consecutive years. 

Online nominations for the 2015 National Optometry Hall of Fame are no longer being accepted.  Nominations for the Class of 2016 will open in November.


Your investment will ensure that The AOA Foundation continues to provide immediate relief to those in need in the wake of natural disasters, vision care to needy Americans, scholarships for optometry students, preservation of optometry’s history and public education about the need for a lifetime of vision care.

©2015 Optometry Cares – The AOA Foundation | Contact Us Twitter icon Facebook icon